The history of the Château de Saint-Fargeau spans 10 centuries. In 980, Héribert, Bishop of Auxerre and half-brother of Hugh Capet, built a fortified hunting lodge. From the 10th to the 15th century, the château was owned by several illustrious families, including the Lords of Toucy, Bar, and the famous treasurer of Charles VII, Jacques Cœur. Starting in 1453, Antoine de Chabannes transformed the ancient fortress into the current château, featuring a pentagonal shape flanked by six massive towers. In 1652, Anne-Marie Louise d'Orléans, known as La Grande Mademoiselle and first cousin of Louis XIV, was sentenced to five years of exile following the events of the Fronde. She took residence in Saint-Fargeau and commissioned the architect Le Vau to redesign the château’s inner façades. His work remains one of the finest examples of French classicism. The Lepeletier family acquired the château in 1713. Louis-Michel Lepeletier, a prominent revolutionary, voted for the execution of Louis XVI and was later assassinated. The Château de Saint-Fargeau is the central "character" in Jean d’Ormesson’s novel Au plaisir de Dieu. Today, the château hosts a spectacular historical reenactment show during the summer, along with enchanting candlelit night tours.
Château de St Fargeau
Téléphone : +33 386 740 567 Email: chateau@saint-fargeau.com www.chateau-de-st-fargeau.com
Photo attribution: Office de tourisme de la Puisaye Forterre / Chateau de St Fargeau